Do insects feel pain?

Discussions on behavioral ecology, evolutionary psychology, neurology, endocrinology, game theory, etc.

Moderator: neuro

Do insects feel pain?

Postby Huxley on April 13th, 2010, 8:10 pm 

What's the scientific consensus on whether or not insects feel pain?
Huxley
Forum Neophyte

Re: Do insects feel pain?

Postby kudayta on April 13th, 2010, 9:33 pm 

Well, their nervous system detects and transmits pain sensations (ie, they've got nociceptors). But it's doubtful that insects feel pain consciously, like you and I do.
kudayta

Postby Tater on April 14th, 2010, 9:09 am 

First of all, I will say I am not an expert, just a senior year biology major at a local university. That being said. . .

I do not believe they do. This semester I am taking a course in Animal behavior, and as part of the course requirement we had to construct an experiment. Due to restrictions on experimenting on vertebrates, we were limited to using insects. The animal welfare officer of the university talked to us about the hoops you have to jump through just work with verts, and how when he worked with endangered pandas in China, he couldn't even touch them.

During our discussions on animal treatment, and experiment which found that ants actually count their steps was discussed. In this experiment, ant leg length was altered either by adding extensions, or cutting the legs of to a shorter length. If they are susceptible to pain, I think there would be restrictions or protocols to follow for working with insects.

I think much of this stems from the that the insect nervous system isn't really constructed like the vert nervous system. Most insects (i think this is right) don't have what you would actually classify as a brain. They have a net of nerves and a few ganglia that enables their actions and behaviors.

I have probably botched some of this explanation, and please, if anyone sees something here that isn't correct, say so. This is all just off the top of my head.